Contentment

by Hansini

Finished reading this book I’d started long back ,  humming to Prateek Kuhad’s alluring music, and here I am,  taking in my surroundings,  stealing glances, noticing the beautiful people around me and wondering,  sometimes it’s the simple things that make for the richest gifts.
How does one negotiate the price of such simple pleasures of life? When will we overcome adversity in order to succeed and appreciate the things that keep us grounded? That truly make us happy? That give us back our lost peace of mind?

The morning dew,  that unexpected touch,  that one intimate look,  the laughter under the sun,  that much awaited call/message, the smell of old books, that tight hug,  the surprise visit,  that walk on the beach, hot chocolate in a cosy cafe.  Those lonesome nights,  hearing the crackles and pops of wood burning on a cold winter night.  

This is what we need. 

So tell me,  how do I live a less cluttered life? 

For now,  I am at peace with myself and everything around me, just content to be here, in this moment,  with the pristine water staring back at me, enticing me. For these simple things, I understand,  rejoice, for which my soul is alive. 

______________

Mahabalipuram, you beauty. Thank you for everything. #firstsolotrip

